Ohio Home Doctor

25 Reviews

Review Us On

  • Review Us on Facebook
  • Review Us on Google
  • Review Us on Houzz
  • Chip Houghton
    02nd December, 2012
    Here’s an Executive Summary: Ohio Home Doctor did such a good job remodeling our home to make it handicap accessible, we called Matt to bid on a commercial job of cleaning and painting a 115 year old, 12,000 square foot warehouse with a highly convoluted roof/ ceiling system. That job was full of surprises, but it came out so well, we recently asked Ohio Home Doctor to come back to our house and help us plan a full kitchen remodel. We are now on our fourth OHD project to be started after the first of the year. Matt is our first choice for any building / modification project that we are considering. He comes in with innovative, affordable and attractive ideas for the work needed. His excellent planning process allows the work to be completed quickly and within budget. The finished product has made our home and work environment much more functional and attractive. His work crew is polite, clean and very considerate. I strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor for any building project you may be planning. Handicap remodeling: After her stroke, my mother came to live with us and we needed to make the whole main floor handicap accessible. We had several design planning sessions modifying two bedrooms, a hallway, several doorways and building a new roll in handicap shower bathroom. Matt suggested putting the home access ramp inside the garage so we kept the outside attractive and provided mom a sheltered point to transfer from her wheelchair to the car. The entire remodeling project was completed in three weeks and was under budget. For me, the most important point was that the modifications fit our home. We don’t look like we had some handicap work that was added on, but rather like we have an open design home with a few rooms that are very roomy. The roll in shower is now a visitor favorite with three shower heads and a glass block window. Commercial cleaning and painting: We moved our internet business to a larger location that was in need of a major clean up. In some of the ceiling areas, there was dust that was over a foot high on the beams with several levels of “strata” marking different companies work processes. Matt came in with the high bid and won the business! He was the only contractor that took our painting request back to Sherwin Williams to help plan the job. They discovered that our walls had at least 50 year old lead based paint and needed a special encapsulation paint to contain and prevent the old paint from peeling. Not only was the paint unique, but that spray application process was so sophisticated, Matt had to have his crew trained and certified before they could use the technological superior painting process. None of the other contractors that were bidding for the job recognized the lead based paint and none of them came in with the approach that would protect our work crew from the inherent dangers of this old product. Finished on time and on budget, our work facility is now clean, bright and productive thanks to OHD. Kitchen Remodel: This fall, Matt has guided us through a kitchen remodeling project that will dovetail into an early winter structural improvement and new flooring project. In this case, Matt steered us to several specialty suppliers and worked to help coordinate the project. He advised us on what was and wasn’t needed (we kept our cabinets, but replaced the pulls, the countertops and appliances). He helped us think through colors and costs. He was there to insure an excellent outcome for each construction phase. We are thrilled with the new kitchen and are looking forward to the next flooring project to be started early this winter. We like the planning, the quality and the attention to budget and time lines with Ohio Home doctor. As a four-time repeat customer I’d strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor.
  • Josh Ordway
    26th August, 2014
    We initially chose Matt and his team because he seemed nice and gave us the cheapest quote. We never could've imagined, though, how great of an experience our basement remodel would be! Matt's team worked quickly and efficiently to give us a beautiful basement. It was really amazing to see the amount of progress they could make in one day! We have a walk out, so Matt's team was able to work without ever having to go into the main house. We would get home from work, and it was like Christmas to see what had been done that day! We often came to Matt to get his opinion on designs, and he was right on. He did a lot of extra little things that he didn't need to do as well. Now we just need to decide what he'll do next for us!
  • Phillip Harrison
    03rd December, 2017
    Until I called Matt the Home Doctor I was having a difficult time getting someone to fix a fairly small problem with my house's vinyl soffit. Matt got the job done quickly at a very reasonably price. I'm glad I found the Home Doctor. They will be my "go to" home improvement service from now on. Thanks Matt!
  • Ron Walker
    19th February, 2014
    My wife and I had been living in our home for about 5 years and really wanted to get our basement finished. It was new construction and we did not like the cost the builder quoted or the options. It took us some time to save and finally decide what we wanted to do. Now let me say this first, we have never hired a contractor before. This was our first time and we were super nervous. My wife and I did a lot of research and talked to a lot of friends for advice. And you can imagine the horror stories. We spent a lot of time interviewing and meeting with other contractors and got several quotes. What made us choose Matt was his professionalism, reliability, and honesty. We explained to him our budget and basement plan and timelines. In addition, I was feeling the DIY spirit wanted to do a lot of stuff myself to keep the cost within our budget, and Matt worked with us on this. We were very happy with Matt's team, including his sub-contractors. Everyone was very respectful and very professional. I could tell the people he worked with respect him and us, and also they cared about doing top-notch job and the quality of their work. Every time I called or emailed Matt, with a question or concern, he always answered or called back the same day. He took care of every concern we had and even offered suggestions for the portions of the project I took on myself. At the end of the day, our basement ended up looking better than the rest of our house. And even though this was the first contractor we every hired, I'm sure it will be the last. If we ever need other project done for our home, I will always call Matt. Thanks Again Ohio Home Doctor!
  • Wes Finley
    19th December, 2013
    They came and put some shutters on the house. It was quick and easy. They asked what was needed to be done... and got to work. Only afterwards did I find out the work was more than expected. They did it anyway... and it was finished quickly. Very professional. I would recommend to anyone for reliable handyman work.
  • Scott Myers
    17th February, 2014
    When my family needed a large home addition (1500 sq ft), I spent months interviewing numerous contractors. Having experience in construction myself and being an engineer, I knew what to look and ask about. Finding one that was responsive and that truly had the skills necessary to work with me and an architect turned out to be more difficult that I would have imagined. The new home addition included tying into our existing home and following architectural plans that would make the outward appearance of the home look as if the addition was there from the first day the home was built. NOT an easy job. I was more than pleasantly surprised when I found Matt Geddis of Ohio Home Doctors. The skill and efficiency of Matt and his team was superb. This home addition includes 2x6 brick exterior construction, walk out office with specialized wiring, elevator, large mother-in-law suite with custom kitchenette and cabinets, custom bathroom with European style glass wall shower with steam room generator, study, guest bedroom, built in surround-sound, completely wired for Cat5 and security, and storage/HVAC room. This list goes on. Every aspect of the job was handled with great attention to detail. There was no “just making code”; it was built well beyond code requirements. Learned quickly that I did not have to follow behind Matt and his team to make sure they were working to a high level of quality. Matt kept in constant communication with me throughout the job and I did not have to chase him. If you’ve ever worked with contractors, you know how important not having to “chase” you contractor is. The elevator that was put into the addition for my Mother-In-Law was Matt’s first elevator install. While an elevator company handles the hardware install, there is a lot of detail that goes into the elevator shaft and door system so that everything lines up perfectly; it was one of the more complex parts of the addition. Matt handled this as if he’d done a dozen before. The elevator supplier was anything but easy to work with, but even though they were difficult, Matt kept after them and made sure they got the job done right in the end. The finished project is marvelous. From the custom bathroom with plenty of granite and glass, the mother-in-law suite with its to my new office with its exotic wood floors and 5’ wide glass French doors. I couldn’t be happier with it. Matt Geddis and Ohio Home Doctors is the best contractor you’ll ever work with, bar none. Whether you’re just doing a small basement job to a large addition (or even an entire custom home), you’ll not find a better construction contractor in the Southwest Ohio Area. Matt and his company are the best of the best that I have ever worked with.
  • Curtis Lieberman
    29th June, 2012
    Ohio Home Doctor did a fantastic job for us. Very punctual and professional, quality work. Easy guy to work with and works around your schedule. I highly recommend them and if the chance will use them again for any remodeling work I have. Thanks, Curtis Lieberman
  • Alissa Rinke
    30th August, 2014
    We had a great experience with Matt and Ohio Home Doctor. I feel good knowing I supported a local business and I feel confident that this is going to be the fix to a problem we have had since we moved into our home 8 years ago. We had a minor leak around our front door and have had the door replaced and also re-installed and chalked (Not by Matt) and none of that fixed the problem. Matt and the guys took off the whole front siding and found we had no waterproof barrier under the siding. They added that around around all the doors and windows. They also scheduled a painter to paint my shutters while they were off. They also added the new lights i bought onto the front of the house, free of charge. I will definitely be calling them back for any home improvements in the future.
  • Jenny Yinger
    31st March, 2014
    AMAZING! First word that comes to our minds when we think of the Ohio Home Doctor and the beautiful work that they have done in our home. This is actually the second time that we have welcomed Matt and the rest of his crew into our home. We feel so fortunate and blessed that these men chose to make the four hour round-trip to Bellefontaine,Ohio to transform our home! Matt and his crew turned our 1950's closed off living room and kitchen into an open concept room that is cozy, inviting, and a game-changer for our family. They also created a modern bathroom hi-lighted by an amazing tile shower that we would not trade for any shower we have ever seen or used. Matt and his crew will treat your home like it is their own home. What more could you ask for? More than anything else, Matt and his crew are good men that you can trust to have in your home day in and day out for as long as it takes. The Ohio Home Doctor will go above and beyond to make your dreams come true, even with a tight budget like ours. We recommend the Dr.'s without reservation and whole-heartedly for any project in your home. They truly are the best of the best, and we are proud to be their customers.
  • Brian Hemmelgarn
    07th August, 2015
    The Ohio Home Doctor team did a great job on our siding project. The communication was clear, the job was done properly and quickly, the experience was done exactly they way you would hope. Matt (owner) was involved from the start to the finish. Complete professional group, I look forward to the next project we will complete with The Ohio Home Doctor. Thank you