Ohio Home Doctor

25 Reviews

Review Us On

  • Review Us on Facebook
  • Review Us on Google
  • Review Us on Houzz
  • Ron Walker
    19th February, 2014
    My wife and I had been living in our home for about 5 years and really wanted to get our basement finished. It was new construction and we did not like the cost the builder quoted or the options. It took us some time to save and finally decide what we wanted to do. Now let me say this first, we have never hired a contractor before. This was our first time and we were super nervous. My wife and I did a lot of research and talked to a lot of friends for advice. And you can imagine the horror stories. We spent a lot of time interviewing and meeting with other contractors and got several quotes. What made us choose Matt was his professionalism, reliability, and honesty. We explained to him our budget and basement plan and timelines. In addition, I was feeling the DIY spirit wanted to do a lot of stuff myself to keep the cost within our budget, and Matt worked with us on this. We were very happy with Matt's team, including his sub-contractors. Everyone was very respectful and very professional. I could tell the people he worked with respect him and us, and also they cared about doing top-notch job and the quality of their work. Every time I called or emailed Matt, with a question or concern, he always answered or called back the same day. He took care of every concern we had and even offered suggestions for the portions of the project I took on myself. At the end of the day, our basement ended up looking better than the rest of our house. And even though this was the first contractor we every hired, I'm sure it will be the last. If we ever need other project done for our home, I will always call Matt. Thanks Again Ohio Home Doctor!
  • Christie Mullins
    14th March, 2014
    I can't find enough kind words to describe my experience with Matt and his whole team! I recently had my basement finished and I could not be happier with the whole process....start to finish. I told Matt when I first talked to him that I had recently had some horrible experiences with contractors and projects at my house, therefore gaining my trust could be difficult. Not only Matt, but everyone I came in contact with were professional, kind, polite, knowledgeable, etc. The quality of work Ohio Home Doctors completed in my basement is beyond any that I've ever experienced (and I've done A LOT of work to my house). They worked quickly and efficiently and they always cleaned up their work area. Matt kept great communication with me letting me know what to expect for the week, his anticipation for completion, etc. and they kept to that schedule very well. The end result is more than I ever expected. I am a 110% satisfied customer. Going forward, Ohio Home Doctor will be the contractor I hire. (The kitchen is next, Matt!)
  • Chip Houghton
    02nd December, 2012
    Here’s an Executive Summary: Ohio Home Doctor did such a good job remodeling our home to make it handicap accessible, we called Matt to bid on a commercial job of cleaning and painting a 115 year old, 12,000 square foot warehouse with a highly convoluted roof/ ceiling system. That job was full of surprises, but it came out so well, we recently asked Ohio Home Doctor to come back to our house and help us plan a full kitchen remodel. We are now on our fourth OHD project to be started after the first of the year. Matt is our first choice for any building / modification project that we are considering. He comes in with innovative, affordable and attractive ideas for the work needed. His excellent planning process allows the work to be completed quickly and within budget. The finished product has made our home and work environment much more functional and attractive. His work crew is polite, clean and very considerate. I strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor for any building project you may be planning. Handicap remodeling: After her stroke, my mother came to live with us and we needed to make the whole main floor handicap accessible. We had several design planning sessions modifying two bedrooms, a hallway, several doorways and building a new roll in handicap shower bathroom. Matt suggested putting the home access ramp inside the garage so we kept the outside attractive and provided mom a sheltered point to transfer from her wheelchair to the car. The entire remodeling project was completed in three weeks and was under budget. For me, the most important point was that the modifications fit our home. We don’t look like we had some handicap work that was added on, but rather like we have an open design home with a few rooms that are very roomy. The roll in shower is now a visitor favorite with three shower heads and a glass block window. Commercial cleaning and painting: We moved our internet business to a larger location that was in need of a major clean up. In some of the ceiling areas, there was dust that was over a foot high on the beams with several levels of “strata” marking different companies work processes. Matt came in with the high bid and won the business! He was the only contractor that took our painting request back to Sherwin Williams to help plan the job. They discovered that our walls had at least 50 year old lead based paint and needed a special encapsulation paint to contain and prevent the old paint from peeling. Not only was the paint unique, but that spray application process was so sophisticated, Matt had to have his crew trained and certified before they could use the technological superior painting process. None of the other contractors that were bidding for the job recognized the lead based paint and none of them came in with the approach that would protect our work crew from the inherent dangers of this old product. Finished on time and on budget, our work facility is now clean, bright and productive thanks to OHD. Kitchen Remodel: This fall, Matt has guided us through a kitchen remodeling project that will dovetail into an early winter structural improvement and new flooring project. In this case, Matt steered us to several specialty suppliers and worked to help coordinate the project. He advised us on what was and wasn’t needed (we kept our cabinets, but replaced the pulls, the countertops and appliances). He helped us think through colors and costs. He was there to insure an excellent outcome for each construction phase. We are thrilled with the new kitchen and are looking forward to the next flooring project to be started early this winter. We like the planning, the quality and the attention to budget and time lines with Ohio Home doctor. As a four-time repeat customer I’d strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor.
  • Valerie Hoffman
    26th October, 2016
    When we were in our new home for 7 months we discovered extreme termite damage, we didn’t know who to turn and how we would get it fixed. We called several contracting companies in our area and most wouldn’t even come out to look at our problem. We called Ohio Home Doctor after yet another google search and Matt returned my call immediately and was out to look at our house within a day. He was so positive and told me “We can fix this!” And honestly, I about cried! His team started work which involved removing the brick on the front of our house and rebuilding our house structure almost up to the second story. We also had to do exploratory demo to see where the termites were and Matt and his crew did a thorough investigation of our house. Matt has an amazing team of guys who we felt became like family. Each one have families of their own and I loved hearing them talk about their kids and new babies while they were working. They were all professional, respectful and personable while they were here. The work Matt and his crew accomplished to our house was top notch. They restored our house when we felt our situation was so hopeless. We will always recommend Matt and his team to anyone needing restoration/remodeling work! - Valerie Hoffman, Springboro, Ohio
  • Josh Ordway
    26th August, 2014
    We initially chose Matt and his team because he seemed nice and gave us the cheapest quote. We never could've imagined, though, how great of an experience our basement remodel would be! Matt's team worked quickly and efficiently to give us a beautiful basement. It was really amazing to see the amount of progress they could make in one day! We have a walk out, so Matt's team was able to work without ever having to go into the main house. We would get home from work, and it was like Christmas to see what had been done that day! We often came to Matt to get his opinion on designs, and he was right on. He did a lot of extra little things that he didn't need to do as well. Now we just need to decide what he'll do next for us!
  • John Hintz
    30th May, 2013
    The storm door of my house was blown into one of my porch pillars knocking it loose. I found Ohio Home Doctor mentioned in a forum on porch pillars. It turns turns out that Matt, the owner, made the forum contribution. I was glad to see that his company served this area. I figured I should get a new storm door too. Matt came and sized up my small job and worked one of his Saturday mornings personally to fit it into his busy schedule. The workmanship was the best and my reattached pillar and storm door look much better than new. He said if I'd buy the door someplace, he'd pick it up. It wasn't going to fit in my car. He'll be my go to guy from now on. I lucked out on this one.
  • Randall Sutter
    20th August, 2013
    Working with Matt, Pat and the entire Ohio Home Doctor team on our remodel was a wonderful experience. The team came highly recommended by a successful insurance agent in Centerville, so we were extremely comfortable from the start. By the end of the project we understood why. Ohio Home Doctor took a 1959 ranch that was chopped into small rooms and completely opened the space to make it extremely functional. The result of the remodel is amazing and we couldn’t be happier. For many homeowners, while remodeling, hidden surprises are a concern. While we did come across a few Matt explained our options to us and we chose the solutions together, all while keeping our budget in check. Whether it’s electrical, plumbing or structural, Matt and his team have the experience and skills to work through it all. Thanks to Matt and his team, we now have a “new to us” house with a beautiful new kitchen, bar opening to the dining room, custom laundry area, and the best of all a very open living space. We are excited to have made a connection with Ohio Home Doctor and look forward to many more projects in the future. Thanks Matt and Pat and the entire team. Randall and Julie, Centerville
  • Wes Finley
    19th December, 2013
    They came and put some shutters on the house. It was quick and easy. They asked what was needed to be done... and got to work. Only afterwards did I find out the work was more than expected. They did it anyway... and it was finished quickly. Very professional. I would recommend to anyone for reliable handyman work.
  • Brian Hemmelgarn
    07th August, 2015
    The Ohio Home Doctor team did a great job on our siding project. The communication was clear, the job was done properly and quickly, the experience was done exactly they way you would hope. Matt (owner) was involved from the start to the finish. Complete professional group, I look forward to the next project we will complete with The Ohio Home Doctor. Thank you
  • Alissa Rinke
    30th August, 2014
    We had a great experience with Matt and Ohio Home Doctor. I feel good knowing I supported a local business and I feel confident that this is going to be the fix to a problem we have had since we moved into our home 8 years ago. We had a minor leak around our front door and have had the door replaced and also re-installed and chalked (Not by Matt) and none of that fixed the problem. Matt and the guys took off the whole front siding and found we had no waterproof barrier under the siding. They added that around around all the doors and windows. They also scheduled a painter to paint my shutters while they were off. They also added the new lights i bought onto the front of the house, free of charge. I will definitely be calling them back for any home improvements in the future.