Ohio Home Doctor

25 Reviews

Review Us On

  • Review Us on Facebook
  • Review Us on Google
  • Review Us on Houzz
  • Rory Garrity
    22nd March, 2014
    This was our first experience working with a contractor so we don't have much by way of comparison. From watching a lot of Holmes on Homes on HGTV, however, it appears that there are many shady characters out there deceiving and defrauding homeowners with remodeling projects. Matt and his team at Ohio Home Doctor are nothing like this. They were trustworthy and honest from the day we met them, and they worked hard on our project (a kitchen remodel that involved installation of a gas line, new cabinetry, granite countertops, tile backslash, and new lighting. While not a part of our project with Ohio Home Doctor, Matt also recommended and assisted with hiring local painters and flooring contractors). Of course little issues would pop up, but Matt and his team were willing to listen and do what they could to address them. My husband and I are both perfectionists, so we are pretty difficult to please. In the end, we received a glorious kitchen that is unlike any other we have seen around here. Matt and his team were willing to do the crazy things we requested, like installing gigantic reclaimed wood beams as floating kitchen shelves and creating a ridiculously large island. In fact, Matt, himself, is knowledgable about the more modern trends in kitchen design and was enthusiastically willing to create the innovative space we wanted. Notably, when I was unhappy with the precise location of the island, which already had granite installed at that point, Matt and his team literally skipped their gym workouts and moved the enormous thing for me. Our kitchen turned out so great and we love it. Thanks, Matt and team, for a great job. We will use Ohio Home Doctor in the future for other projects.
  • Josh Ordway
    26th August, 2014
    We initially chose Matt and his team because he seemed nice and gave us the cheapest quote. We never could've imagined, though, how great of an experience our basement remodel would be! Matt's team worked quickly and efficiently to give us a beautiful basement. It was really amazing to see the amount of progress they could make in one day! We have a walk out, so Matt's team was able to work without ever having to go into the main house. We would get home from work, and it was like Christmas to see what had been done that day! We often came to Matt to get his opinion on designs, and he was right on. He did a lot of extra little things that he didn't need to do as well. Now we just need to decide what he'll do next for us!
  • Scott Myers
    17th February, 2014
    When my family needed a large home addition (1500 sq ft), I spent months interviewing numerous contractors. Having experience in construction myself and being an engineer, I knew what to look and ask about. Finding one that was responsive and that truly had the skills necessary to work with me and an architect turned out to be more difficult that I would have imagined. The new home addition included tying into our existing home and following architectural plans that would make the outward appearance of the home look as if the addition was there from the first day the home was built. NOT an easy job. I was more than pleasantly surprised when I found Matt Geddis of Ohio Home Doctors. The skill and efficiency of Matt and his team was superb. This home addition includes 2x6 brick exterior construction, walk out office with specialized wiring, elevator, large mother-in-law suite with custom kitchenette and cabinets, custom bathroom with European style glass wall shower with steam room generator, study, guest bedroom, built in surround-sound, completely wired for Cat5 and security, and storage/HVAC room. This list goes on. Every aspect of the job was handled with great attention to detail. There was no “just making code”; it was built well beyond code requirements. Learned quickly that I did not have to follow behind Matt and his team to make sure they were working to a high level of quality. Matt kept in constant communication with me throughout the job and I did not have to chase him. If you’ve ever worked with contractors, you know how important not having to “chase” you contractor is. The elevator that was put into the addition for my Mother-In-Law was Matt’s first elevator install. While an elevator company handles the hardware install, there is a lot of detail that goes into the elevator shaft and door system so that everything lines up perfectly; it was one of the more complex parts of the addition. Matt handled this as if he’d done a dozen before. The elevator supplier was anything but easy to work with, but even though they were difficult, Matt kept after them and made sure they got the job done right in the end. The finished project is marvelous. From the custom bathroom with plenty of granite and glass, the mother-in-law suite with its to my new office with its exotic wood floors and 5’ wide glass French doors. I couldn’t be happier with it. Matt Geddis and Ohio Home Doctors is the best contractor you’ll ever work with, bar none. Whether you’re just doing a small basement job to a large addition (or even an entire custom home), you’ll not find a better construction contractor in the Southwest Ohio Area. Matt and his company are the best of the best that I have ever worked with.
  • Christie Mullins
    14th March, 2014
    I can't find enough kind words to describe my experience with Matt and his whole team! I recently had my basement finished and I could not be happier with the whole process....start to finish. I told Matt when I first talked to him that I had recently had some horrible experiences with contractors and projects at my house, therefore gaining my trust could be difficult. Not only Matt, but everyone I came in contact with were professional, kind, polite, knowledgeable, etc. The quality of work Ohio Home Doctors completed in my basement is beyond any that I've ever experienced (and I've done A LOT of work to my house). They worked quickly and efficiently and they always cleaned up their work area. Matt kept great communication with me letting me know what to expect for the week, his anticipation for completion, etc. and they kept to that schedule very well. The end result is more than I ever expected. I am a 110% satisfied customer. Going forward, Ohio Home Doctor will be the contractor I hire. (The kitchen is next, Matt!)
  • David Taylor
    04th September, 2019
    I got automated email when I requested an estimate on the webpage. It indicated I would be contacted promptly, I was not contacted so I called Matt, he said he was busy and text him and he would call me back. I have called him several more times, and left him a voicemail. He has not bothered to return my calls. I have no further desire in using this company, very disappointed he doesn't have the courtesy to at least answer his phone and tell me he isn't interested in the job.
  • Greg Hopper
    20th May, 2013
    We moved into our new home 7 years ago and ever sense have explored various contractors to finish our basement. We wanted top quality work with some expense features. We learned about Ohio Home Doctor (Matt) after some friends of ours used them to finish their basement. Although our friends didn't go with all the bells and whistles we were looking for, they did have them put in a pretty impressive bathroom. Our friends were really pleased with the professionalism and work quality of Ohio Home Doctor and so we decided to have them give us a quote. We knew it would be a big job and take a while. We finished about 1,100 sq feet, including an 11 foot wet bar, 7 foot wine bar, 6 foot half-wall bar (which the kids love to sit at and watch TV over the couch), full bath with walk-in tiled shower with frame-less glass door/wall. We had them put in about 350 sq feet of tile on the floor and the rest was carpeted. We also had them install all hand-stained baseboards and 6-panel doors to match the upstairs of our custom build home. Other rooms they completed in the basement included a workout room and a "hang" room for the kids and their friends. Matt and Pat installed over 1,000 lbs of stack stone on the 11 foot wet-bar and the 6 ft half-wall bar (including two columns up to the ceiling). It turned out awesome. The stack stone is one of the most impressive features (although may others come in a close second). We also installed granite counter tops on all 3 bars, which was also very impressive. Add to that stainless steel bar frig, dish washer and sink and some very nice cabinets. Everyone we've had in our basement is blown away by the workmanship. Truly awesome job guys... we'll be calling you back when it's time to upgrade the kitchen and master bathroom. Thanks again. Very satisfied customer, "The Hoppers"
  • Chip Houghton
    02nd December, 2012
    Here’s an Executive Summary: Ohio Home Doctor did such a good job remodeling our home to make it handicap accessible, we called Matt to bid on a commercial job of cleaning and painting a 115 year old, 12,000 square foot warehouse with a highly convoluted roof/ ceiling system. That job was full of surprises, but it came out so well, we recently asked Ohio Home Doctor to come back to our house and help us plan a full kitchen remodel. We are now on our fourth OHD project to be started after the first of the year. Matt is our first choice for any building / modification project that we are considering. He comes in with innovative, affordable and attractive ideas for the work needed. His excellent planning process allows the work to be completed quickly and within budget. The finished product has made our home and work environment much more functional and attractive. His work crew is polite, clean and very considerate. I strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor for any building project you may be planning. Handicap remodeling: After her stroke, my mother came to live with us and we needed to make the whole main floor handicap accessible. We had several design planning sessions modifying two bedrooms, a hallway, several doorways and building a new roll in handicap shower bathroom. Matt suggested putting the home access ramp inside the garage so we kept the outside attractive and provided mom a sheltered point to transfer from her wheelchair to the car. The entire remodeling project was completed in three weeks and was under budget. For me, the most important point was that the modifications fit our home. We don’t look like we had some handicap work that was added on, but rather like we have an open design home with a few rooms that are very roomy. The roll in shower is now a visitor favorite with three shower heads and a glass block window. Commercial cleaning and painting: We moved our internet business to a larger location that was in need of a major clean up. In some of the ceiling areas, there was dust that was over a foot high on the beams with several levels of “strata” marking different companies work processes. Matt came in with the high bid and won the business! He was the only contractor that took our painting request back to Sherwin Williams to help plan the job. They discovered that our walls had at least 50 year old lead based paint and needed a special encapsulation paint to contain and prevent the old paint from peeling. Not only was the paint unique, but that spray application process was so sophisticated, Matt had to have his crew trained and certified before they could use the technological superior painting process. None of the other contractors that were bidding for the job recognized the lead based paint and none of them came in with the approach that would protect our work crew from the inherent dangers of this old product. Finished on time and on budget, our work facility is now clean, bright and productive thanks to OHD. Kitchen Remodel: This fall, Matt has guided us through a kitchen remodeling project that will dovetail into an early winter structural improvement and new flooring project. In this case, Matt steered us to several specialty suppliers and worked to help coordinate the project. He advised us on what was and wasn’t needed (we kept our cabinets, but replaced the pulls, the countertops and appliances). He helped us think through colors and costs. He was there to insure an excellent outcome for each construction phase. We are thrilled with the new kitchen and are looking forward to the next flooring project to be started early this winter. We like the planning, the quality and the attention to budget and time lines with Ohio Home doctor. As a four-time repeat customer I’d strongly recommend Ohio Home Doctor.
  • Brian Hemmelgarn
    07th August, 2015
    The Ohio Home Doctor team did a great job on our siding project. The communication was clear, the job was done properly and quickly, the experience was done exactly they way you would hope. Matt (owner) was involved from the start to the finish. Complete professional group, I look forward to the next project we will complete with The Ohio Home Doctor. Thank you
  • Phillip Harrison
    03rd December, 2017
    Until I called Matt the Home Doctor I was having a difficult time getting someone to fix a fairly small problem with my house's vinyl soffit. Matt got the job done quickly at a very reasonably price. I'm glad I found the Home Doctor. They will be my "go to" home improvement service from now on. Thanks Matt!
  • Jenny Yinger
    31st March, 2014
    AMAZING! First word that comes to our minds when we think of the Ohio Home Doctor and the beautiful work that they have done in our home. This is actually the second time that we have welcomed Matt and the rest of his crew into our home. We feel so fortunate and blessed that these men chose to make the four hour round-trip to Bellefontaine,Ohio to transform our home! Matt and his crew turned our 1950's closed off living room and kitchen into an open concept room that is cozy, inviting, and a game-changer for our family. They also created a modern bathroom hi-lighted by an amazing tile shower that we would not trade for any shower we have ever seen or used. Matt and his crew will treat your home like it is their own home. What more could you ask for? More than anything else, Matt and his crew are good men that you can trust to have in your home day in and day out for as long as it takes. The Ohio Home Doctor will go above and beyond to make your dreams come true, even with a tight budget like ours. We recommend the Dr.'s without reservation and whole-heartedly for any project in your home. They truly are the best of the best, and we are proud to be their customers.